Christmas Songs Book Tag

This is an annual tag created by That Artsy Reader Girl! I saw it and had zero hesitation in deciding to join in on the holiday fun! We have had the Christmas music on at our house since early November, so I am allll over the holiday spirit!


“All I Want for Christmas Is You”: Favorite bookish couple.

There are so many to choose from, but I am going to pick an old favorite – Anne and Gilbert!

Anne of Green Gables 1.jpg


“I’ll Be Home for Christmas”: Name a book where a character is away from home (school, vacation, etc.).

Lila Bard from A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab. She’s not just away from home – she’s away from her entire world.

A Darker Shade final for Irene


“Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”: Name your favorite “little” book (children’s book, short story, novella, etc.).

Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney. I ADORE this book, which is about a woman who “longed to travel the world, live in a house by the sea, and do something to make the world more beautiful”.

Miss Rumphius


“Santa Claus is Coming to Town“: What book(s) do you hope Santa brings you this year?

ALL OF THEM! But for real, I have soooo many on my Christmas list. If I had to pick, I’d go with the Illustrated Game of Thrones books, of which there are two so far.


“Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”: Which book turned your nose red (made you cry)?

ALL OF THEM!!! Wait…I said that already. Except it’s true because I cry ALL THE TIME when I read. Notable examples: Endsinger by Jay Kristoff, Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas, and HPatDH by JKR.


“The Most Wonderful Time of the Year”: Your favorite book/kind of book to read during the holidays.

I don’t have a seasonal favorite for this time of year. Usually I am just trying to make a final push at my TBR before the year ends. I did, however, just watch all 6 hours of the BBC Pride & Prejudice, and somehow that put me in a holiday spirit despite not being holiday themed in the slightest.

Image result for pride and prejudice bbc

P.S. Colin Firth will always be my Mr. Darcy.


“We Three Kings”: Your favorite trilogy.

This isn’t even a fair question. I am going to name my top trilogies because favorite is a fluid term. So, the Caraval Trilogy by Stephanie Garber. Nevernight Chronicles by Jay Kristoff. The ACOTAR trilogy by Sarah J Maas. The Daughter of Smoke & Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor. The Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray. I could keep going…


“Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow”: A character you would love to be snowed in with.

Draco Malfoy. The end.


“Last Christmas”: A book that seriously let you down.

The Book That Shall Not Be Named. When the world went crazy about a Harry Potter sequel following his youngest son at school, I freaked out right along with everyone else. I was even on vacation when it released and made my hisband hunt down a bookstore so I could get it and read it on our 6 hour drive home. Too bad it was utter garbage and made me want to throw it out the window of the car, leaving it along the highway in Northern Maine.


“White Christmas”: An upcoming release you’re dreaming about.

Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare. I am dying for this book, and not just because it is probably the single prettiest cover of any book ever. I adore the Shadowhunter books, so I will be inhaling this as soon as it releases!

Chain of Gold.jpg


songsBookTag-500x276.png


What books would you choose for these songs? Tell me in the comments!

10 thoughts on “Christmas Songs Book Tag

  1. So great getting to see Miss Rumphius on someone’s list! i adored that book and it’s beautiful illustrations so much, Miss Rumphius = life goals.

    Also-

    “Draco Malfoy. The end.”

    So. True.

    Like

  2. I love your pick of Draco Malfoy! I had to meet Tom Felton when he came to my local Comicon a few years ago. I think the Game of Thrones illustrated editions sound really neat too. Love your choices! Thanks for visiting my blog post earlier!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anne and Gilbert’s relationship was one of the first that I read and was completed enthralled in! Everyone thought it was weird that I read these books in 5th grade, but I loved them so much! Miss Rumphius is a beautiful story, and I also cannot wait to read Chain of Gold! My favorite Cassie Clare series is The Infernal Devices, but I really enjoyed the Dark Artifices too so I’m excited to read this new series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment