Winter Wonderland Book Tag

It’s time for another book tag! I came across this on A Little But a Lot‘s blog, and luckily Steph has tagged “everyone” because it looked like fun! Now, please bear in mind that I am not endorsing Winter as a season with this post. In fact, I voted against Winter in the seasonal elections this year, but New England is rather pro-snow, so I lost out. Alas, I will just be over here with my space heater, multiple layers of scarves, cozy blankets, and hot cup of tea, waiting anxiously for Summer. In the meantime, let’s check out this tag!


WHAT BOOK IS SO HAPPY AND SO SWEET THAT IT JUST WARMS YOUR HEART?

There's Something About SweetieDo happy, sweet books even exist anymore?! Have I read ANYTHING this year that didn’t break my heart at least a little? Am I just projecting because I read a lot of Jay Kristoff and therefore my soul is dead? My answers are yes, probably yes, definitely yes.

ON THAT NOTE, I am going to choose There’s Something About Sweetie by Sandhya Menon. Sandhya is the queen of adorable YA contemporaries, and this latest edition is no exception! She is an auto-buy author for me and her books are guaranteed to make me smile. I cannot wait for the next book in the Dimple universe to release, and I fully expect to have it in my hands the day it comes out! Also, I did a full review of Sweetie a while back, if you are interested in checking that out!


WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE BOOK WITH A WHITE COVER?

Heartless OCNo hesitation on this one: Heartless by Marissa Meyer, but the OwlCrate edition! This was actually the first book I ever owned that had an exclusive cover, back in the days before all of the Big Sub Boxes did exclusives every month. I remember it being a Really Big Deal that they had an alternate cover, and this baby did not disappoint! I mean, it was so epic that they actually designed the paperback to mimic it. That’s how you know you’ve done something right.

Cover aside, I also adore this story. Retelling are my jam, and this one was just really really well done. It is the Queen of Hearts origin story I never knew I needed until I read it and realized what had been missing from my life. I’ve read other QoH retellings and none of them even come close to being as awesome as this.


YOU’RE SITTING IN A NICE, COMFORTABLE CHAIR WITH A CUP OF HOT CHOCOLATE. WHAT MONSTER BOOK ARE YOU READING?

I am reading the Renegades trilogy, ironically also by Marissa Meyer. Archenemies has been on my TBR shelf since it released, but I avoided it for so long that I ultimately decided to just wait for Supernova to release and to read the whole trilogy together. It’s live in the world now, although I am waiting for my stained-pages edition from this month’s MLC Candle Crate! Then I plan to cozy up and binge read!

*Also, I am going to shamelessly plug the MLC Candle Crate because they are an amazing company and an amazing box, and I am super lucky to be part of the team that helps brainstorm and design each crate. Use my code MLCBUNNY at checkout (also good for the MLC Co shop) to save 10% on your subscription! That 10% applies to every box for as long as you stay subscribed!


ITS SNOWING OUTSIDE AND YOU DECIDE YOU WANT TO HAVE A SNOWBALL FIGHT. WHAT FICTIONAL CHARACTER DO YOU WANT TO HAVE THIS SNOWBALL FIGHT WITH?

Is this even a question? Obviously Fred and George Weasley! I mean, they are the characters who enchanted a snowball to follow Quirrell around and HIT VOLDEMORT IN THE FACE. There is no question that any snowball fight with them would be amazing and magical and full to the brim with shenanigans.

Honorable mention to Buddy the Elf from the movie Elf. He has some serious snowball fight skills, and I’d pick him for my team any day! He’s not technically a book character though, but he is fictional.


SADLY, YOUR CAMPFIRE IS DYING. WHAT LAST FEW CHAPTERS OF A BOOK WOULD YOU THROW IN THE FIRE TO REVIVE IT AND KEEP YOURSELF WARM?

Photo Nov 11, 11 01 07 PMScrew just the last few chapters – I would throw the entirety of The Book That Shall Not Be Named into the fire, cackling maniacally the whole time. In fact, I feel that one day I will deviate from my usual method of only using crappy Dollar Tree self-help books for my fire shoots, and will “accidentally” “trip” and light fluid will “accidentally” get spilled on it and then it will “completely spontaneously” burst into flame.

*Photo credit for this AMAZING fire pic goes to my very dear friend Monica from Bushor Photography. You know you have found a bffl when you send a text that says “hey, I want to light some books on fire, because Instagram and art and shit” and instead of disowning you she replies with “I’m in. What time?” And yes, that is my hand holding that flaming book, and no it wasn’t scary and I didn’t get even a little burnt; we are not professionals at this!


WHAT BOOK DO YOU LOVE SO MUCH THAT YOU WOULD BUY ANOTHER COPY OF IT TO GIVE TO SOMEONE AS A CHRISTMAS GIFT (OR ANY GIFT REALLY) TO INSPIRE THEM TO START READING?

You ask this like this isn’t a regular occurrence. I really really really don’t like to lend out my books to people – the idea makes me a little ill – so, instead, when I want you to read a book I love I just buy you a copy of your own! And not just for Christmas. Also birthdays, anniversaries, random Tuesdays because Amazon.

I will throw a little bit of a bone here and say that the book/series I have spread to the most amount of people would probably be the Throne of Glass series and the ACOTAR trilogy. I can list of at least half a dozen people that I directly got hooked on SJM. #sorrynotsorry


WHO DO YOU TAG?

I tag the following:

Lauren at Lala’s Book Reviews

Lexi from Reading in the Wings

Amanda from If There’s a Haunted House in it I’ll Read it.

and anyone else who wants in!


 

Leave a comment